Last Night of Hot Rods at Plough Lane?

Well a couple of weekends ago I went to Wimbledon, possibly for the last time. I have been going there since before I was 10. I took mates there as a fist night out after I passed my driving test. I did the 3hr trip back for Best in Britain when i was at University and occasional other meetings as ‘research’. And it looks like this June the stadium will be pulled down to make way for flats and yet another football stadium. The last competitive motor sport venue inside the M25 – gone.

https://www.change.org/p/boris-johnson-mp-save-wimbledon-stadium-for-the-nation

 photo dsc08845_zpsnc9xhtij.jpg

It still pulls in a decent crowd considering it is a Sunday night in February so not what anyone would call warm.

 photo dsc08683_zpsu4prcyam.jpg

 photo dsc08787_zps4qbjfq1n.jpg

 photo dsc08678_zpssqo6xjl4.jpg

To my regret I have never been able to photograph Wimbledon such that it is recorded the way I see it, this was my best, and most probably last, attempt.

 photo dsc08936_zpswqejpkwh.jpg

Look down and it is racing but look up and you can see flats and aircraft approaching Heathrow. It is the strangest experience to know that you are in the heart of South London.

 photo dsc08893_zpsfkejs988.jpg

 photo dsc08599_zps9z5cscja.jpg

 photo dsc08672_zps1wchfvei.jpg

 photo dsc08795_zpsgnkevyn4.jpg

 photo dsc08678_zpssqo6xjl4.jpg

 photo dsc08861_zpsgg7h7x3c.jpg

 photo dsc08757_zpserbucgeu.jpg

Racing wasn’t televised in ‘my’ era so here is a video of Polley & Lee racing at Wimbledon, both of whom were there for this last night along with Mick Collard and his assistant Rob (Driving the car above).

Leave a Reply

